Writing Stresses

blogging-business-cms-265667

Writing is so much more than writing.

Getting words onto paper can mean so much, depending on what your current mood for is.  It is a feeling of freedom, a way of unburdening yourself; getting your angst out.  Words convey so much, it’s scary.  They have the power to hurt, to make someone cry.  They can brighten someone’s day and make them smile.  Words are power.

So why am I in turmoil now?

I love to write, and I want to get my words out there for the world to see, but at the same time, get paid to do so.  So now, not only am I worried about the words I use, but also, how do I get them out there?  How do I lure unexpected people to read them; enjoy them?

I’d love nothing more than to quit my horrible day job in retail.  That is an ultimate dream for me, but I know it’s not a realistic one.  At least at this time.

So now I have to find balance.

baking-cooking-eggs-46170

I’m going to treat the business of writing as a recipe.  The words of course are the main ingredient, but add in the marketing and editing, and you have your basic recipe.  It’ll be a journey to find what works and what doesn’t, but that is a little exciting to me.

While I work on longer pieces, I’ve also decided to try out writing stories on Medium.  Never hurts to give things a shot, right?  And that’s something that is new to me.

I’m done being afraid; wondering should I?  Will I succeed?

I will never succeed until I jump in and starting on July 1st that is my plan.  I guess I will see how it goes.  10 stories a month on Medium for 6 months.  Lofty goal for me.  Will I succeed?  Only time will tell.  At least my words will be out there.  Maybe I can put a smile on someone’s face.

I’ll check back and let you know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment